Nylander named MVP

COLOGNE, GERMANY - MAY 21: Skoda CEO Bernhard Maier presents the tournament MVP trophy to Sweden's William Nylander #29 following Sweden's 2-1 shoot-out win over Canada in the gold medal game at the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship. (Photo by Andre Ringuette/HHOF-IIHF Images)

Rookie forward impresses for Sweden

William Nylander's blistering pace brought him goals, a gold medal and the MVP award as chosen by the media at the end of the 2017 IIHF World Championship.

William Nylander was named tournament MVP of the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship on Sunday evening. The Swedish forward had seven goals and seven assists from 10 games as he helped his country win gold, giving him a share of fourth place on the scoring charts.

More memorable than the raw stats, though, was the stunning goal the 21-year-old Toronto Maple Leafs forward conjured to give Sweden a quarter-final win over Switzerland. His lightning pace took him on a breakaway and left Christian Marti with no option but to trip him. As he fell to the ice, though, he managed to steer the puck into the net to give the Tre Kronor a 2-1 lead on the way to a 3-1 victory.

Nylander’s performances in his first World Championship earned him the MVP award as voted by the media. The Media All Star Team had the Swede on a potent forward line with Artemi Panarin (Russia, 4+13 points) and Nate MacKinnon (Canada, 6+9). Panarin’s 17-point tally made him the World Championship’s leading scorer. He was also selected as Best Forward by the tournament directorate. MacKinnon shared second place on the scoring list with Nikita Kucherov, who tied with Nylander and Nikita Gusev for the leading goalscorer with seven.

On defence, Canada’s Colton Parayko was selected alongside Dennis Seidenberg of Germany. Seidenberg’s goal and seven assists made him one of the host nation’s most productive contributors on a run to the knock-out phase and earned him the Directorate Best Defenceman award. That goal came in the thrilling victory over Latvia that took the Germans through in dramatic fashion.

Russia’s Andrei Vasilevski was chosen as the Best Goaltender of the competition. He had three shutouts in nine games, blanking Italy and Denmark in the group phase then silencing the Czechs in the quarter-final. In total he stopped 93.56% of shots for a GAA of 1.72.

Individual Awards selected by the Tournament Directorate:

Best Goaltender: Andrei Vasilevski (RUS)
Best Defenceman: Dennis Seidenberg (GER)
Best Forward: Artemi Panarin (RUS)

Most Valuable Player selected by the Media:

William Nylander (SWE)

All-Star Team selected by the Media:

GK: Andrei Vasilevski (RUS)
DE: Colton Parayko (CAN)
DE: Dennis Seidenberg (GER)
FW: William Nylander (SWE)
FW: Artemi Panarin (RUS)
FW: Nathan Mackinnon (CAN)

Back to Overview